MARTINRANGER

 


3 Sep 2019, Santorini Photography Pr,... Greece, Linda Kaechele Rating *****

What a treat! We totally enjoyed our day with Martin! Martin took us all over Santorini and helped us avoid the crowds, while making sure we saw many more sights than we'd have seen otherwise. We walked through adorable villages and saw vineyards and beautiful beaches. He gave me lots of helpful photo tips as well as fascinating information about the island and its history. Martin is very personable and interesting and has a terrific sense of humor-what a great day!

2 Sep 2019, Santorini Photography Pr,... Greece, Roger Mendis Rating *****

Martin's a great photographer and guide. The knowledge he has isn't forced on you. Based on the knowledge you have of your camera, he will quietly suggest things to make your shots better. And he knows his history and his way around Santorini. Brilliant.

 

11 Jul 2019, Santorini Cruise Ship Sh,... Greece, Anthony (Tony) Ruvido Rating *****

We had a limited window of time during a cruise stop on Santorini but Martin somehow helped us to squeeze a couple of days worth of stops in a few hours without making us feel rushed. We were really surprised at how varied the different hues & moods of lesser-known spots such as Akrotiri & Kamari were, but he made sure we got to their better-known siblings Oia & Fira in time for sunset. Super-knowledgeable, friendly and patient (we stopped multiple times for photos), we would recommend Martin to anyone!

4 Jul 2019 Cycladic Island Open Top,... Greece, Hayley Williams Rating *****

We had so much fun with Martin, that we met up with him again to watch the US Women's soccer game on another evening of our trip! He was so knowledgeable, gave great advice, had the best stories, took the BEST pictures...just overall a GREAT guy. Everyone in our group got along with him and enjoyed his company! Highly recommend Martin as your tour guide!

3 Jul 2019 Cycladic Island Open Top,... Greece, Marie Price Rating *****

We had a wonderful time exploring Santorini with Martin. He is full of local knowledge and tips to enhance your stay on this beautiful island. We loved seeing parts of Santorini that we would have missed otherwise. I would not hesitate to recommend Martin to our friends and family. We can't wait to return!

TRAVELER PRIVATE COMMENT: Thank you so much for a wonderful day around Santorini. We loved the island and hope to return. Best, Marie & Matt

29 Jun 2019 Santorini Photography Pr,... Greece, Lane Taylor Rating *****

Great Day spent with Martin. Knew the island amazingly!! Highly recommend.

TRAVELER PRIVATE COMMENT: Thanks again Martin!

9 Jun 2019, Santorini Gastronomy,... Greece, Denise Church Rating *****

We had a lovely tour yesterday by Martin. He took the time to show us some areas we would have not made it to, including the small village of Emporio where we stopped at a quaint family run cafe for iced lemonade. It was picturesque and the perfect start to our day. Our next stop was Amoudi the fishing port where we had our lunch on the edge of the water. The food was delicious and the view on the water was spectacular. Martin ordered many culinary items we might not have otherwise tried and they were fantastic.

29 May 2019, Santorini Photography Pr,... Greece, Fred Phillips Rating *****

We're not professional photographers, but this tour with Martin was the best tour of our vacation. Martin was knowledgeable of Santorini, took us all around the island, avoiding the crowds. And best of all, he took pictures of us with our camera in every scenic location. Definitely worth it if you're looking for a special private tour.

8 Apr 2019, Santorini Gastronomy,..., Greece, Bob Spring Rating *****

Martin shares his extensive knowledge of Santorini's history and lifestyle. He is personable and very interesting.

TRAVELER PRIVATE COMMENT: We followed up on your restaurant recommendations. Both were excellent. Thanks

17 Oct 2018, Cycladic Island Open Top,..., Greece, David Durham Rating *****

Martin was excellent, took us everywhere. Avoided the crowds, and just overall was the best. Would definitely recommend him for a tour. Thanks so much for an awesome day. 

 

28 Sep 2018, Santorini Photography Pr,... Greece, Gregory Adams Rating *****

Very interesting tour hitting major highlights and some fascinating off-the-beaten-path places. Martin is delightful and extremely knowledgeable; being a professional photographer, he was able to guide us to great spots for memorable photos and make suggestions how to take the best one. Unfortunately, we did not understand that we would not be able to go everywhere we wanted, due to having to park too far away and climb to get there. Otherwise, perfect.


27 Aug 2018, Santorini Photography Pr,..., Greece, Ronald Friedman Rating *****

Ron and I had a nicely paced day with Martin. We easily met up at the top of the cable car and from there he drove us around the beautiful island of Santorini. It was hot so we took a break for lemonade & ice cream and he ultimately dropped us off conveniently to get to the cable car. I wasn't sure in advance if he was going to discuss details about taking pictures or just the right places to shoot from. This was more of the later. We do private and ship tours and this day with Martin was worth it.

26 Jul 2018, Santorini Gastronomy Pri,..., Greece, Jerry Tenbrink Rating *****

Martin did a great job showing us those things that most people don't, which is what we wanted. Plus the food was fantastic! Thanks Martin


24 Jul 2018, Santorini Photography Pr,..., Greece, David Atkins Rating *****

Look no further- Book Martin. We strongly recommend booking Martin if he is available. We booked Martin for a full day photo tour of Santorini. Martin is awesome. Martin is a globally published professional photographer who offers tours of the island he calls home - Santorini. If we wanted to get deep with photo details/ tips he had those as well as tourist info of the locations Martin was flexible & changed the route to help us get some things we wanted & stories to go with it. Amazing day!


13 Jun 2018, Cycladic Island Open Top,..., Greece, Elizabeth Griffith Rating *****

This was truly fun. I had been to Santorini several times and only knew the town above the gondola. This tour took us to so many other little beautiful towns and beaches. My two grandchildren loved it also.


6 Jun 2018, Santorini Photography Pr,..., Greece, Anne Somerville Rating *****

My tour with Martin was the best thing I have ever done, it was always my dream to go to Santorini and get photos of  Santorini's caldera, doors and blue domed churches, I booked Martin to take me to these locations, to help me with my camera so that I got these photos on my own, He checked my photos at each stop to make sure they were good before moving on. This was a trip of a lifetime and I can't thank him enough, he is such an easy guy to take you around, I would tell anyone to book Martin for sure.


29 May 2018, Santorini Photography Pr,..., Greece, Heidi Anderson Rating *****

My family enjoyed covering Santorini from end to end with breathtaking views and local flare.


5 Sep 2017, Santorini Photography Pr,..., Greece,  Rating *****

Martin is wonderful and I encourage anyone wanting a sampling of Santorini - expert photo advice and engaging stories to sign up for one of his tours. EXCELLENT!!


3 Sep 2017, Santorini Cruise Ship Sh,..., Greece, Mike Pohl Rating *****

Martin is a great local guide and was able to educate and take us on a tour of Santorini at our pace.Strongly recommended if you are coming off a cruise and don't want the large group experience .


31 Aug 2017, Santorini Photography Pr,..., Greece, Cheryl Pyshos Rating *****

A fabulous day in Santorini. Martin is very knowledgeable about the island and is very skilled at avoiding what could have been crushing crowds. Would recommend without reservation.


9 Aug 2017 Santorini Cruise Ship Sh,...Greece, Karl Facer Rating *****

(none)


4 Aug 2017 Santorini Photography Pr,..., Greece, Cheryl Huey Rating *****

This tour was everything I hoped for and more. We saw the entire island. Great views for photos. Martin is an accomplished photographer and knew exactly where to take us for best access. Martin was extremely knowledgeable and eager to share his love of Santorini. We gained insights to the local industries and hangouts. Martin was also kind enough to change my day of tour at last minute when my ship unexpectedly changed schedule. I highly recommend this tour!!


22 May 2017  Santorini Photography Pr,..., Greece, Sharne Worrall

Martin met us promptly and then took us on a tour of every part of the Island away from the crowds. Lots of help with our photography as well as detailed knowledge of Santorini. We would never have found the sights we saw without him. Excellent highly recommended.

TRAVELER PRIVATE COMMENT: Recommendation for meal was first class. Help with our cameras meant we won a mention in the on ship photo competition. We are sending a thick jumper in case the temperature drops below 25 degrees ! Shame he didn't buy us any chocolates !!!!


21 May 2017 Santoríni Sail... Greece Terry Johnson Rating *****

Great guide and tour. Heartily recommend!


4 May 2017  Santoríni, Cycladic Island Open, Greece, Jeff Getz Rating *****

We did the tour on our first day which helped us better understand the different parts of the island and what was available. We very much enjoyed the tour, particularly of the Castilli of Emporio. Martin's easy going, laid back personality was perfect for this environment. If interested in photography, he is very knowledgeable and helpful with advice ... we took a lot of pictures

.

21 Sep 2016   Santorini Photography, Greece   Maria Shabanov Rating: *****

My friend and I selected this tour to maximize our time and see as many places/villages of the island as possible in a short period of time. Martin was very knowledgeable, knew how to avoid the cruise ship crowds, and was very flexible with the timing of the tour. We asked to start the tour at 7 to catch the sunrise and he gladly agreed. He also took us to some quaint corners of the island we could not have found without him. The coffee shop he took us to was a truly authentic experience.

13 Sep 2016   Santorini Cruise, Greece   Sherry Sakamoto​, Star' Rating *****

Martin is very knowledgeable about Santorini and provides a very laid-back, unrushed insiders view of the island. We were a group of 4 with one member experiencing walking limitations and Martin was always very helpful. Plus with his photography background he can steer you towards some of the best shots of the island (and I'm by no means a photographer but I was impressed by the pictures I captured on my IPhone!)

 4 Sep 2016   Cycladic Island, Greece  Joni Renard 'Star' Rating: *****

Wonderful tour of the island, he accommodated our wants and needs as 3 women loving to shop ! As we toured he was always willing to stop, eat and shop whenever we wanted ! Open top touring is the only way to do Santorini... wonderful memories of all the places we were taken.

 3 Sep 2016   Sail Santorini, Greece   Joni Renard, 'Star' Rating: *****

Martin was excellent, knowledgeable, and fun to be with during our tour of Santorini. Our tour was disrupted by bad weather conditions, but he changed the tour to fit our needs and had a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend Martin !!

10 Aug 2016   Santorini Photography, Greece  Randall Sherman, 'Star' Rating: *****

This was a third time in Santorini, and by far the best tour! Martin's knowledge of the island currently and its history is expansive. As a bonus, his knowledge of photography is outstanding and he took us to many amazing viewpoints that we had never seen before. All in all, a great day of sightseeing and photography. Thank you Martin! Thank you

10 Jul 2016   Santorini Photography, Greece  Lynn Smith, 'Star' Rating: *****

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful photography tour with Martin in Santorini. It was a beautiful day and we drove across the whole island where Martin would stop at great scenic views to give us the best setting for our photographs. We have some wonderful pictures from that day.

13 Jun 2016   Santorini Gastronomy, Greece  Miguel Ariza, 'Star' Rating: *****

We selected Martin for our tour guide during our day trip to santorini. Hands down best decision we ever made. Highly recommend his gastronomic tour! We enjoyed some of the most amazing local wine and dined by the sea at this amazing seafood restaurant. Most fresh and delicious food ever. Martin was very knowledgeable and assisted us with getting excellent pictures given his professional photo background! A great way to see santorini by car

 

8 Jun 2016   Santorini Photography, Greece  Lorraine Hilderman, 'Star' Rating: *****

Had a great day in Santorini with Martin. Was able to see the island and avoid a lot of the tourist traffic. He knows the island well and it's history. Would recommend taking a tour with Martin to anyone

8 Jun 2016   Cycladic Island, Greece  Sarah Booker, 'Star' Rating: *****

We had a fantastic day on Santorini with Martin! We saw so much, took some amazing photographs, and had an A+ time! It was a highlight of our entire trip to Italy and Greece! Thank you for the tips on using my polarizing filter, and the other photography tips obviously including the amazing photo op stops!!! It made the day even better! HIGHLY recommend spending a day with Martin! If we had the time, I would have added a few more hours as it went by much too quickly!

Thank you, again, for a fantastic day! Lynann and I will certainly be bragging about you to all of our friends! Will be in touch if we are ever in the area again! Sincerely, Sarah

6 Oct 2015   Santoríni Cruise, Greece  Denise Hilsher, Star' Rating *****

One of the best private tours I have experienced

 

21 Sep 2015   Santorini Photography Tour, Greece  Carol Smith, Star' Rating: *****

 Martin in Santorini was our tour guide on September 21, 2015. His tour of the island was excellent for the five of us. The tour stated 4 hours but our tour was 6 hours. He was very informative

 

4 Sep 2015   Santorini Cruise, Greece  Sherry Wade, Star' Rating: *****

Martin gave us a great tour of the entire island allowing us to go at our own pace and enjoy the many panoramic views. He also took us on a walk through a very quiet village and showed us other unique sites. At our request we ended the tour at a seaside cafe away from the larger tourist spots and our meal was memorable

 

29 Aug 2015   Santorini Photography Tour, Greece  Frank Barnako, Star' Rating: *****

Strongest possible recommendation for Martin Ranger, an ex-pat British/ Canadian who's lived on Santorini on & off for 20+ years. We asked Martin for a Photography-focused tour of the beautiful island. He delivered a day-long adventure, highlighted by a local's insight, humor, and color. His familiarity with 'the territory" put us in position to bring home our own startling images of whitewashed buildings and brilliant blue domes. Martin is smart, savvy, helpful, considerate and ... a great photographer. Book him

 

21 Aug 2015   Santorini Cruise, Greece  Donald Death, Star' Rating: *****

A great day on Santorini. Martin gave us a wonderful day and we ended the day committed to returning. Thanks

 

18 Aug 2015   Santorini Cruise, Greece  Gary Konopka, Star' Rating: *****

Martin's super knowledge of Santorini was fantastic. We saw all the sites worth seeing and then got to see areas you would not normally get to. Martin was probably the most professional and knowledgeable guide we have ever encountered. Use him - you will not be disappointed

 

5 Aug 2015   Santorini Photography Tour, Greece  Robert Chernitsky, Star' Rating: *****

Our photo tour of Santorini with Martin was Fantastic! Martin contacted us before the tour to learn the kit we were bringing and what we wanted to see. He took us all around the island to capture the best scenes for our Photos. My daughter is building a portfolio for her Photo Club in HS. Martin helped her to compose the shots and guided her on settings, etc. The non-photographers in the family also enjoyed the tour. We saw places that we would have never found without Martin's help

 

30 Jul 2015   Santorini Cruise, Greece  Josella Fenech, Star' Rating: *****

Santorini is simply beautiful. Martin took us for a tour of Thira and then drove us to Prophet Elias mountain. Went to the Red Beach and swam in the clear sea with the beautiful background of the red volcano. Oia was truly enchanting and could have spent a whole afternoon admiring the view with the white dazzling houses and the blue domed churches. Martin took some nice photos for us to capture this magical day. Excellent guide

 

14 Jul 2015   Santorini Photography Tour, Greece   Allen Kettle, Star' Rating: *****

Martin was great to work with and exceeded our expectations. He was very knowledgeable and was very attentive to our needs. There were 4 in our travel party and Martin made sure we each of us was having an enjoyable tour. When he spoke he called us by our names, very impressive. I would recommend Martin and would use him again in the future

 

30 Jun 2015   Santorini Cruise, Greece   Markus Lombardozzi, Star' Rating: *****

What a fantastic experience of Santorini. Whilst there where 5 cruise ships in for the day we sat at a local cafe with nobody passing for hours and seeing an old castle. He is extremely knowledgable and very accommodating. What a fantastic time. Thank you

 

8 Jun 2015   Santorini Photography Tour, Greece   Ross Ginsberg, Star' Rating: *****

Our guide was prompt, pleasant, knowledgeable and took us to the best places to take our photos, spent extra time with us and I couldn't say enough good things about him

 

4 Jun 2015   Santorini Photography Tour,  Greece   Alvin Nicolo, Star' Rating: *****

Santorini is a beautiful place and this tour is a great way to see it. Martin is very professional and interesting. My wife is a semi-professional photographer and Martin was able to offer professional tips to help her better understand some technical aspects of her camera. Martin knows the island exceptionally well and can take visitors to beautiful, less travelled places. Santorini is somewhat difficult to get to for someone in a wheelchair (like myself) but Martin was very helpful-great tour

 

2 Jun 2015   Santorini Cruise, Greece   Karen Larsen, Star' Rating: *****

Awesome! Martin's tour of Santorini was one of the highlights of our trip. His communication, patience, timing, flexibility and knowledge were perfect and Martin made sure we saw everything possible in our time there. Oia, Fira, Red Sand Beach, smaller villages,stunning photo opportunities, a relaxing cappuccino overlooking the blue domes, then later small bites and wine by the water.Fabulous. Martin knew his way around the crowds and the traffic benefitting our schedule. Great day and a great guide!

 

28 May 2015   Santorini Photography Tour, Greece   Brian Sharoff, Star' Rating: *****

Martin is a very knowledgeable photographer and guide. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time with him

 

29 Apr 2015   Santorini Photography Tour,  Greece   Victoria Beatles, 'Star' Rating: *****

The rating is limited to 5 stars but Martin was really off the chart. We had a wonderful experience with Martin. He was full of rich history of the island, he was a skilled driver. Always mindful of our time together and wanting to make the most memorable experience.

 

23 Jun 2014   Cycladic Island Open top, Greece   Hilary Simmons, Star' Rating: *****

It was a wonderful tour! I was very uncertain about how many of us there might be and what day we might be there, but Martin answered all my questions, was flexible with what I wanted to do! It was an excellent tour! Thanks again for everything Martin!

 

15 Jun 2014   Santorini Photography Tour,  Greece   Frances Betts, Star' Rating: *****

Martin was very flexible and accommodating - He also went to the special effort of getting an open top car which made the drive much more fun. He took us to non-tourist places which were fabulous. We actually did not hire him for photography but to take us around the island. His knowledge of the history is excellent. I would highly recommend him.

 

1 Jun 2014   Santorini Photography Tour,  Greece,  Cynthia Withrow, Star' Rating: *****

We spent a wonderful day in Santorini with Martin Ranger. He was cheerful, knowledgeable, and took us all over the island to gorgeous scenic spots we could have never found on our own. He had lots of interesting facts and stories to share. Having Martin as our guide allowed us to get the very most out of our limited time on the island. His expertise in photography was very helpful. We highly recommend him and thought that the cost was absolutely worth it

 

25 May 2014   Santorini Photography Tour, Greece   Judith (Judy) Burnham, Star' Rating: *****

Martin, the trip around your beautiful Santorini was extraordinary. Thank you for everything. We all thoroughly enjoyed every minute, and we all hope to come back before Brad & I get too tottery and old!

 

16 Oct 2013   Santorini Photography Tour, Greece   June Reynolds, Star' Rating: *****

Martin did a great job on this trip. He took us to wonderful spots to photograph. He was very helpful on camera settings. We highly recommend this trip. June

 

2 Oct 2013   Santorini Photography Tour, Greece   Robert Schmidt, Star' Rating: *****

A great opportunity to see and photograph the island in the care of a real pro! Thanks, Martin!

 

6 Sep 2013   Santorini Cruise, Greece   Michael Weaver, Star' Rating: *****

Martin met us and gave us a thorough tour of the side of Santorini that many don't have the privilege of seeing, including those on cruise line tours! We saw far more in four hours than many would see in eight hours or more! I would HIGHLY recommend him!

 

17 Sep 2012   Santorini Photography Tour, Greece   Aaron Kampfe, Star' Rating: *****

I can't say enough about how great Martin was with my group! Not only did we see the "must see" places of Santorini, but he showed us many out of the way spots that only a local can know. Martin's personality was perfect for my group and I would recommend him in an instant. I would rate our experience a 4.75/5. The only down side was that we could have used a larger vehicle for the tour